Skip to content

CONIFA 2018 World Football Cup: Teams, dates & TV

first_imgConIFA World Football Cup Teams, fixtures and everything you need to know about the CONIFA 2018 World Football Cup Goal Last updated 1 year ago 22:26 2/17/18 FacebookTwitterRedditcopy Conifa ConIFA World Football Cup Sixteen teams will compete for the chance to be CONIFA World Football Cup winners this summer, so Goal takes a look at everything you need to know The CONIFA 2018 World Football Cup will take place in London this summer, with the Barawa Football Association hosting tournament.“We are thrilled to be taking CONIFA to England – the spiritual home of football,” said CONIFA President Per-Anders Blind.AdChoices广告“The World Football Cup just gets bigger and bigger. After hosting our inaugural tournament in Sweden in 2014, we reached new heights in Abkhazia last year with an event that received media coverage on every inhabited continent. Editors’ Picks Lyon treble & England heartbreak: The full story behind Lucy Bronze’s dramatic 2019 Liverpool v Man City is now the league’s biggest rivalry and the bitterness is growing Megan Rapinoe: Born & brilliant in the U.S.A. A Liverpool legend in the making: Behind Virgil van Dijk’s remarkable rise to world’s best player “We are confident 2018 will be our best tournament yet, and London will be the perfect host.”With the tournament now only months away, Goal takes a look at everything you need to know.WHAT IS THE CONIFA WORLD FOOTBALL CUP? Conifa 3The Confederation of Independent Football Associations (CONIFA) 2018 World Football Cup is an international football tournament for states, minorities, stateless peoples and regions unaffiliated with FIFA organised by ConIFA. Barawa, a region of Somalia, are this year recognised as hosts of the tournament, though the entire competition will take place in London as the Barawa Football Association is based in the capital.WHEN IS THE WORLD FOOTBALL CUP? The games will take place between May 31 2018 and Jun 9 2018 .WHERE WILL THE GAMES BE PLAYED? Numerous stadiums around London will be hosting World Football Cup matches. To date, three host venues have been announced:Gander Green Lane , home of Sutton United, will host a number of games. The stadium’s pitch is of FIFA 2-Star quality, FIFA’s highest rating for 3G artificial pitches, and has a capacity of 5,013.Hayes Lane , also holding around 5,000 people, will share a spread of fixtures. The ground is used by Bromley Football Club, Cray Wanderers and Crystal Palace Ladies.Queen Elizabeth II Stadium , the smallest of the three stadiums, is housed in Enfield and holds approximately 2,500 spectators.WHO HAS QUALIFIED? conifa 2Sixteen teams will take part in the competition, with Barawa the recognised hosts.Six of the competing sides are representing Europe, five are from Asia, three from Africa, one from North America, and one from Oceania. TEAM REGION METHOD OF QUALIFICATION  Tamil Eelam Asia CONIFA Challenger Cup winners  Abkhazia Europe CONIFA World Football Cup Winners Felvidek Europe Hungary Heritage Cup winners Western Armenia Asia Wild Card Barawa Africa Host  Tibet Asia Wild Card  Kiribati Oceania Regional qualification  Cascadia North America Regional qualification  Padania Europe CONIFA European Football Cup Winners  Northern Cyprus Europe CONIFA European Football Cup Runners Up Panjab Asia Regional qualification United Koreans of Japan Asia Regional qualification Matabeleland Africa Regional qualification Kabylie Africa Regional qualification Ellan Vannin Europe Regional qualification Székely Land Europe Regional qualification GROUPS, DATES AND OPENING FIXTURES Group A consists of Barawa, Ellan Vannin, Tamil Eelam, and Cascadia. Group A PL W D L GF GA GD PTS     Barawa  0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0   Ellan Vannin 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0  Tamil Eelam 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 Cascadia 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 Group B consists of Abkhazia, Northern Cyprus, Felvidék, and Tibet. Group B PL W D L GF GA GD PTS Abkhazia 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 Northern Cyprus 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 Felvidék 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 Tibet 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 Group C consists of Padania, Székely Land, Kiribati, and Matabeleland. Group C PL W D L GF GA GD PTS Padania 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 Székely Land 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 Kiribati 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 Matabeleland      0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 Group D consists of Panjab, United Koreans of Japan, Western Armenia, and Kabylie. Group D PL W D L GF GA GD PTS Panjab 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 UK of Japan 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 Western Armenia 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 Kabylie 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 The opening fixtures of the competition will take place on May 31 2018, with Ellan Vannin taking on Cascadia, and Barawa going up against Tamil Eelam.On the same day, Abkhazia face Tibet and Northern Cyprus face Felvidék in Group B, while Padania vs Matabeleland and Kiribati vs Székely Land takes place on the same day.Panjab vs Kabylie, and United Koreans of Japan vs Western Armenia will also go ahead on May 31.The quarter-final stage of the tournament will take place on June 5, the semi-final on June 7, and the third-place play-off on June 9.The final will also take place on June 9, with the venue to be decided.last_img read more